Facebook groups can be a great tool for networking or to grow a Facebook page. They have a different dynamic from a Facebook page and come with their own sets of rules and behaviors. This article explores what Facebook groups are, how to create one, the privacy settings and features of a group.

What are Facebook Groups?

Facebook groups are like a private newsfeed just for the people in the group. They are a way to connect with people around a certain topic. You can do everything you normally do on Facebook plus some extra features. You can post status updates, pictures, videos and even create group documents. You can send messages to other group members or tag them in posts. Lear how to create a group and use the features.

How to Create Facebook Groups

On your Facebook homepage, look in the left column for “groups” and click “create group.” When the next page comes up, click “+create new group.” At this point, you need to set the group’s name, add members and select the privacy settings. You have to add at least one member to the group from your friend’s list. You can add other members later. Depending on the privacy settings, you may be able to add people who are not on your friend’s list.

After you set a group name, add members and choose the privacy setting, click the “create group” button. You will be taken to the group page where you can click on the wheel-shaped symbol on the top right and select “edit group settings.” Now, you can add a group description, tags (for the group topic) and a group cover photo.

Facebook Groups Privacy Settings

There are three types of group privacy settings: open, closed and secret. How you set the privacy settings depends mostly on who you want to be able to see the group’s posts and who can join the group.

Open Facebook Groups

In an open Facebook group, anyone can join or be added or invited to the group by group members. It means anyone can see the group’s name and description, the group’s posts, find the group by searching for the group’s tags and see who is in the group. The group’s posts will also show up in people’s newsfeeds if a friend of theirs comments or likes a post from the group.

Closed Facebook Groups

In a closed group, anyone can ask to join the group or be added or invited by a member. Anyone can see the group’s name or description, find it in search results and see who is in the group. A closed group is only different from an open group in that people have to ask to join and only group members can see what is posted in the group. But people can still see the group’s posts if a friend of theirs comments or likes a post from the group.

Secret Facebook Groups

A secret group is the only really private type of Facebook group. Anyone can join the group but they have to be added or invited by a group member. Only members and former members can see the group’s name, description and tags.. Only current members can see who is in the group, the group’s posts, find it in search results and see posts in their newsfeed.

Facebook Groups Features

There are few features of Facebook groups that aren’t available elsewhere on Facebook. Group members can upload photos and videos to the group. They can write and respond to messages much like status updates. They can create group events.

The most unique feature is that a group can upload files or have group docs. You can create group docs by clicking on the “Files” tab at the top of the group page. Click +Create Doc, enter your content and then click save. Group docs make it possible for multiple group members to add content to the same document.

What can you use Group Docs for?

Group Docs are great for creating a list of the group members names and contact info for networking. If you create a group for networking with other professionals, you can all add your office location and number for a referral list. Or if you have a group of Facebook page admins, you can all list your Facebook pages (or other social media) so you can share each others content. Some Facebook pages take part in Share for Share groups where they share each others content to publicize each others pages. Or page admins will agree to like, comment and share each others posts to increase how many people see their posts. It increases the “reach” of a post when someone comments, likes or shares it.